Ficasso's World

A bit of this…and a bit of that!

TAKING IT DAY BY DAY…

Leave a comment

15 July 2013

I’m coming on nicely – each day goes a bit better… BUT… I still can’t sit comfortably!! So I’m hardly on the computer these days and feel I’m missing out on such a lot – but at this point walking around or lying down is preferable to sitting!! Also not driving yet – mainly ‘cos I can’t sit for any length of time… Surgeon keeps reminding me that it’s only been 3 weeks since the “big op” and my body still has a lot of healing to do – something that could take another 2 to 3 months! Will be seeing him tomorrow for another check-up…

23 July 2013

Getting stronger and improving each day… but it will be a great day the day I can finally sit properly and comfortably!! Even if it’s only for 10 minutes!! Till then walking and lying down will have to do… 🙂 … and still not driving yet. Saw the surgeon last week for a check-up and he was happy with my progress and the way the cuts are healing, and he reminded me that it will take another 2 to 3 months for all the insides to heal properly!! Next step is to make the follow-up appointment with the oncologist…

67047_551150838249367_1927916576_n

23 July 2013

Just had to smile… Medical Aid has authorised my stoma supplies to end of 2099!! So pleased I don’t have to worry about getting them in the next 86 years!!

01 August 2013

Well, it’s SIX weeks today since my op… where has the time gone? I’m doing very well and both cuts are healing nicely – as is the stoma. Sitting is still a challenge but I am sure this will improve in the days to come. My follow-up appointment with the oncologist is on 13 August and it’s up to him if I need further chemo or not. I’ve been walking around my complex several times each day which keeps the circulation going :-)! Managed 10 circuits yesterday which is almost 1km!! And losing weight has been a nice bonus!! Down 8kgs so far (since March). Next week I will try driving short distances. Gosh, I have so much to be positive and grateful about… Thanks once again for all the love and support…

05 August 2013

Took a little baby step today… started driving! OK, so it was just to the garage to fill up (before the price hike) and to the Spar – a round trip of less than 2km… but, it’s a start! Oh, and the company I do data capturing for contacted me today to see how I was and if I was ready to work again as they had boxes for me!! Still can’t sit for any length of time so the d/c will take longer than usual – but they’re OK with that! Life is slowly getting back on track!!

15 August 2013

Just had confirmation that my appointment with the oncologist is at 11h30 tomorrow morning! Here’s hoping that he feels the same way as the surgeon…

11709530_10153441667122863_1421388300770961738_n

Leave a comment